Be prepared: this is a bit of a photo rant!

Something that I found was really amazing was when I was at my MYT 5 year anniversary. I felt like I learned a couple things about my camera, myself, and photographers. Of course, I could be wrong because I can only go off on what I saw from my point of view from the professional photographers that were hired for the event.

Before the event had started, I’m an early bird kind of person. I like arriving to hang out with my volunteer family, and they all know that I love to take photos. So, I had some of the guys stolen by yours truly because I don’t always photograph guys and it was just TOO GOOD of an opportunity to pass up.

I definitely had to use my communication skills to get what I wanted, and anyone who knows me knows I’m not crazy about telling people how to pose. This was a step up for me. Some of the guys didn’t know me too well because they had just met me quite recently and some of them are more relaxed in front of my camera then others. This was definitely a great experience for me.

I unconsciously used techniques and tips that I had picked up from watching the YouTube channel The FramedShow. Things like visually showing my models what I was looking for, constantly talking to them to make them feel more comfortable, and levelling with them. I found this worked extremely well.After a few attempts, I had some interesting shots.

Later on, one of the guys, who was one of my models and also didn’t know me very well, said something surprising to me after the professional photographer took his tables group photo. It was basically along the lines that he felt like I was a more real photographer and I was more passionate because I actually talked to everyone to tell them how to pose and allowed them to really make the picture happen. I was actually quite shocked hearing that, and at the same time I felt blessed.

Ps. I’m not trying to boost my ego or anything because I KNOW I could have taken better photos and that I’m still in a learning process. I just wanted to share this experience.

xoxo Dana

