When I do a shoot, it’s like I’m shooting in a machine gun mode! The rapid fire of a machine gun is what you would hear when I’m doing a shoot! It’s such a bad habit I have!

Why? Because I end up with like 400+ photos from one session, where half of them are very similar, or its’ slight changes like the focal point, the focus or even the expression.

My biggest fear is not capturing THAT moment; the one photo where it makes me smile in content and think “Yup. This is it. This is WHY I’m at this shoot today.”

I’m always worried I’ll end up undershooting rather than overshooting. To me, overshooting is the reassurance that I know I’ll have more than enough photos. However, at the same time it will also take up all the space on my camera and at any given moment (because I shoot RAW all the time now), I’ve had moments where I stared at my camera screen in utter horror, reading “Memory Card Full” at the most CRUCIAL moment when I need that valued space and I recklessly will delete photos’, thinking I’ll be fine, when I don’t know if that’ll be the case.

After seeing a framedshow episode of Tanja, Ryan and Tia (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9ibrNSt2R2c&feature=g-user-u), as well as some post-processing after shoots with some of my models (DJ and Bremely), they taught me a lot.

I’ve always wondered, or wish I could see ALL the photos from some of my favourite photographer’s sessions, to get an idea of how many photos they take, what they keep and how they choose.

It’s a very difficult process as well as a great lesson.

By taking the chance, you are making yourself choose what you truly want in your photos, you want variety in your shots where every shot is truly its own. This is really taking your photos and making them each individual, different and unique.

At the end of the day, even if I just have that ONE amazing photo, or if I’m lucky a small handful, I’m thrilled! I do worry about what others think, from how many photo’s are they hoping to have to thinking “is this a waste of my time for only a few shots?”

How do you deal with it?~

xoxo Dana

