-Edits 500+ photoshoot photos for 3+ hours-

-Realizes there’s no natural light to take photos for a post-

-Goes to bed-

-Stares at the ceiling-

-Guilt arises. Sneaks out of bedroom to get laptop & write a post-

So that’s how we came to this point. 2:02am. I’ve been posting everyday since I started this blog. I can’t help but feel unfaithful if I don’t post. Because if I forget ONCE, that’s all it takes end up not blogging at all.

Thank you Hamda for telling me you’re a faithful follower! This is for you hun =)

About 2 days ago, on my 19th birthday, me and my artsy friend Brem did a photoshoot (white lace & forestry concept). It turned out better than I expected. I really loved the results.

(Not this photo. This was a personal fav for both of us, only the curve was touched.)

When going through the photos, she asked if I could just touch up her skin in 2 or 3 of them before posting. This made me pause.

… Touch up … the photo … the actual subject … the actual PERSON!? WHAT?!

I’ve NEVER done that (well ONCE, but for a Skills Canada competition). Sure, I’ve finally become comfortable with using photoshop to edit in terms of just adjusting the curve and changing the exposure. But actually making slight changes on the model?! No way!

Now, I might sound really childish, but I truly believe in natural beauty. I shoot in natural light and I’ve never bothered to change anything about the people I photograph.

I figured only professional photographers do this, but I would try to stay away from it as much as I can. To me, Brem is such a beaut on her own. I didn’t see any reason for it. This all links back to the Imperfect Insecurities post.

I’ve accepted that Photoshop is a tool, if not an extension of my Nikon. It’s meant to help ENHANCE the beauty of the photo’s I take.

… However, I always think of the billboard models.  A strong example is the Dove photoshop time lapse commercial: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hibyAJOSW8U

I get this feeling that once I start learning to edit and do touch ups on my actual subjects, I won’t be taking photos the way I do now. I’ll always be in the mindset that says “Oh, no worries. I can just photoshop that”. I REALLY don’t want it to come down to that. I like keeping my photo’s as raw as I possibly can. Yes, I admit I edit with settings built into my camera and tinker around with filters on photoshop like sephia and saturation, but I would rather keep it like that.

I know, I must seem like such a hypocrite, it’s okay if you think I am. I’m just very confused by the concept of actually altering natural beauty. Everyone is photogenic. Why not show it naturally?

What are your views? If you disagree, let me know. I would love to hear what you think.

This is a very slow process for me to grasp and work with, but I am; slowly. Well, I think I now have both this unfaithfulness off my chest as well as this topic! I can possible sleep peacefully for the next 4 hours before getting ready for work! Good night wonderful bloggers! Keep blogging away!

xoxo Dana

